Your Members by Appointing Authority

There are 18 members of the National Park Authority, 12 appointed by the 7 unitary authorities with land in the National Park, and 6 recruited by the Welsh Government for their particular expertise. Authorities are encouraged to appoint councillors with wards wholly or at least partly in the National Park, but all Members make decisions for the National Park rather than their appointing authority.

Local authority appointed members usually serve for the local government election term (4 years) and Welsh Government appointment members for an initial term of 4 years with option for further terms subject to a review by the Minister for Natural Resources, up to a maximum of 8 years.

Members receive an annual Basic Salary for their work as well as payment for travel and subsistence. The Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Authority, the Chairman of Planning, Access and Rights of Way Committee and the Chairman of Audit and Scrutiny Committee all receive a Senior Salary. You can view the Schedule of Member Remuneration and the amounts paid to members since 2008 in the Member section of the Library (see left hand navigation). You can also view all role decriptions in the library.

To learn more about our Members click on the profiles below.

 Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council

 Carmarthenshire County Council

 Independent Member of Standards Committee

  • Mrs Pam Hibbert

    Independent Member of Standards Committee

    Chair of Standards Committee

 Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

 Monmouthshire County Council

 Powys County Council

 Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

 Torfaen County Borough Council

 Welsh Government appointed member

  • Canon Aled Edwards

    Welsh Government appointed member

    Deputy Chair of the Authority / Deputy Chair Sustainable Development Fund Committee

  • Mr James Marsden

    Welsh Government appointed member

    Landscape and Biodiversity Member Champion

  • Mr Julian Stedman

    Welsh Government appointed member

    Chair of Planning, Access and Rights of Way Committee

 Not specified