Committee details

National Park Authority

Purpose of committee

The National Park Authority comprises 18 members appointed as follows by the constituent authorities in the Park and by the Welsh Government:


Powys County Council

6 members

Carmarthenshire County Council

1 members

Monmouthshire County Council

1 members

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council

1 member

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

1 member

Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

1 member

Torfaen County Borough Council

1 member

Welsh Government

6 members



The Authority makes decisions on:


·         Policy and strategy (including Development Plans)

·         Financial resources

·         Level of use of reserves

·         Committee structure

·         Appointment of Chief Officers

·         Appointment of Members to outside bodies


The National Park Authority meets every two months and all meetings are open to the public, except when matters are discussed which are considered exempt under the Local Government Act 1972.


We have a public speaking scheme for the public to address the Authority on any item on the agenda.  Please see the library section of this site for details of the public speaking scheme.


You can watch all our meetings live as webcasts or as an archive. 


Contact information

Support officer: Julia Gruffydd or Angharad Hawkes. 01874624437

Postal address:
Plas y Ffynnon
Cambrian Way

Phone: 01874 624437


Web site: